Return to Headlines

STSD Teachers Recognized by Shippensburg University School Study Council

Susquehanna Township School District Teachers Recognized by Shippensburg University School Study Council


Harrisburg, PA (November 19, 2018) – Shippensburg University and the Shippensburg University School Study Council celebrated American Education Week Thursday, November 13, 2018 by recognizing forty-seven outstanding teachers from school districts in South Central Pennsylvania.  The honorees were selected for their outstanding service to their school communities based on their commitment to effective teaching, their dedication to their students, their commitment to ongoing professional development, as well as for utilizing innovative practices in the classroom and for serving in leadership roles in their schools.


Among those recognized were two Susquehanna Township School District teachers: Joan Tracy from Susquehanna Township High School and Nicole Wedge from Sara Lindemuth/Anna Carter Primary School. “This is the 3rd consecutive year that Susquehanna Township School District has had at least one teacher selected to be recognized by the Shippensburg University School Study Council,” said Superintendent Dr. Tamara Willis. “Teachers like Mrs. Tracy and Ms. Wedge are invaluable and we are fortunate to have both working to educate our students.”


STHS Principal Vincent Harper spoke highly of Mrs. Tracy and her dedication to the students of STHS. Also in attendance was Sara Lindemuth/Anna Carter Primary School Principal Andrae Martin, and Superintendent Dr. Tamara Willis.


In congratulating the Outstanding Teachers, Dr. Brian Small, Executive Director of the Study Council emphasized that research clearly indicates that the most important factors in a student’s success are the quality of the classroom teacher and the learning experiences which take place in the classroom.  He added that there continues to be a critical need for teachers of the highest quality to assure that all students are educationally and economically competitive in a global economy.  Dr. Nicole R. Hill, Dean of the College of Education and Human Services welcomed over 160 teachers and guests to the Recognition Luncheon held on the University Campus in Reisner Hall.  Dr. Hill congratulated the teachers on their selection and praised the administrators and staff for their ongoing support of effective teaching.


The annual event is sponsored by the Shippensburg University School Study Council, a partnership between public school districts and the University, which supports school system leaders in improving the instructional environment and experience.”